School Social Work Competency Series (Online)


The School Social Work Competency Series is an online professional development opportunity for those who are interested in advancing their knowledge in social work intervention in educational settings, assessment, and integration of psychological and educational testing and intervention with children with special needs in educational settings. The Competency Series is designed to meet specific educational requirements set forth by the State of Michigan Department of Education. The Competency Series includes three courses:

  • School Social Work Assessment: Integrating Psychological and Educational Testing
  • School Social Work Intervention: Children With Special Needs
  • School of Social Work in Educational Settings


Please see the current schedule at the websites listed below.  Courses are offered on a revolving basis and follow a semester long format.


Asynchronous, interactive, online at


These courses are designed for professionals who have already obtained their MSW degree.

For more information:

See related programs in these topics: